UCR

Molecular, Cell and Systems Biology



Faculty


Name
Title
Contact
Description
Adams, Michael E. Ph.D. Director, Neuroscience Graduate Program; Professor, Depts. of Molecular, Cell & Systems Biology and Entomology phone: 951-827-4746
Fax: 951-827-3087
michael.adams@ucr.edu
Hormonal regulation of development and innate behaviors; isolation, characterization and physiological actions of arthropod venom toxins.
Anderson, Garret R. Ph.D. Assistant Professor phone: 951-827-5849
Fax: 951-827-3087
garret.anderson@ucr.edu
The molecular roles of Adhesion G-protein Coupled Receptors in controlling the specificity of neural circuit assembly.
Bachant, Jeffrey Ph.D. Associate Professor phone: 951-827-6473
Fax: 951-827-3087
jeffrey.bachant@ucr.edu
Mechanisms that ensure accurate mitotic chromosome transmission and that make mitotic entry responsive to stressful contingencies.
Cho, Jun-Hyeong M.D. Ph.D. Assistant Professor phone: 951-827-2560
Fax: 951-827-3087
jun-hyeong.cho@ucr.edu
Neural circuit mechanisms of fear learning and memory; cellular neuroscience; synaptic physiology; optogenetics.
Curras-Collazo, Margarita C. Ph.D. Associate Professor phone: 951-827-3960
Fax: 951-827-2966
margarita.curras@ucr.edu
Neurophysiology, neuropharmacology, neuroendocrinology, excitotoxicity. Identification and function of glutamate receptor subunits in neuroendocrine cells, physiological regulation of glutamate receptor expression, mechanisms underlying neuroprotection.
Currie, Scott N. Ph.D. Associate Professor phone: 951-827-2411
Fax: 951-827-2966
scott.currie@ucr.edu
Network, synaptic and cellular mechanisms that control locomotion in the vertebrate spinal cord and brainstem.
Eastmond, David Ph.D. Professor phone: 951-827-4497
Fax: 951-827-3087
david.eastmond@ucr.edu
Toxicity and carcinogenesis of environmental chemicals; chromosomal alterations in chemically exposed human populations.
Fiacco, Todd A. Ph.D. Associate Professor phone: 951-827-7865
Fax: 951-827-3087
todd.fiacco@ucr.edu
Mechanisms of astrocyte regulation of neuronal excitability.
Gill, Sarjeet Ph.D. Distinguished Professor phone: 951-827-4621
Fax: 951-827-3087
sarjeet.gill@ucr.edu
Molecular mechanisms of toxic action and xenobiotic metabolism.
Gu, Weifeng M.D., Ph.D. Assistant Professor phone: 951-827-3600
Fax: 951-827-3600
weifeng.gu@ucr.edu
Non-coding small RNAs in gene regulation and anti-virus.
Haga-Yamanaka, Sachiko Ph.D. Assistant Professor phone: 951-827-3560
Fax: 951-827-3087
sachiko.yamanaka@ucr.edu

Hormones and pheromones: Internal and external control of animal behaviors.

Huang, I-Chueh M.D., Ph.D. Adjunct Assistant Professor
ichueh.huang@ucr.edu
Innate immune control of viral infections.
Karginov, Fedor V. Ph.D. Assistant Professor phone: 951-827-3604
Fax: 951-827-5155
fedor.karginov@ucr.edu
Small RNAs and RNA-binding proteins in gene regulation.
Le Roch, Karine Ph.D. Professor phone office: 951-827-5422
phone lab: 951-827-5934
Fax: 951-827-3087
karine.leroch@ucr.edu
Understanding the life cycle progression of the human malaria parasite at the molecular level using a system Biology approach.
Martins-Green, Manuela Ph.D. Department Chair and Professor

faculty office phone: 951-827-2585

Chair's office phone: 951-827-2831

Fax: 951-827-4286
manuela.martins@ucr.edu

The role of chemokines in wound healing and tumor development.
Nugent, Connie Ph.D. Associate Professor phone: 951-827-2383
Fax: 951-827-2996
connie.nugent@ucr.edu
Replication and maintenance of telomeric regions of chromosomes.
Ray, Anandasankar (Anand) Associate Professor phone: 951-827-5998
anand.ray@ucr.edu
Uses the olfactory system in Drosophila to understand genetic and epigenetic gene regulation; activity of receptors and neurons for behavior; and genetics of learning &memory. Basic mechanisms discovered are then exploited for developing next-generation applications for mosquitoes, pest insects, and human smell & taste.
Riccomagno, Martin M. Ph.D. Assistant Professor phone: 951-827-4682
Fax: 951-827-3087
martin.riccomagno@ucr.edu
Understanding molecular mechanisms underlying brain circuit formation and refinement, with particular emphasis on neuronal pruning events.
Sladek, Frances Ph.D. Professor phone: 951-827-2264
Fax: 951-827-3087
frances.sladek@ucr.edu
Molecular mechanisms of tissue-specific gene expression; steroid hormone receptors.
Stanley, B. Glenn Ph.D. Chair, Dept. of Psychology; Professor, Depts. of Molecular, Cell & Systems Biology and Psychology phone: 951-827-5244
Fax: 951-827-2214
glenn.stanley@ucr.edu
Neuronal control of eating behavior, disturbances of eating behavior, and neurotransmitters.
Talbot, Prue Ph.D. Professor phone: 951-827-3768
Fax: 951-827-4286
prudence.talbot@ucr.edu
Stem cell biology and reproduction.
Yang, Hongdian Ph.D. Assistant Professor phone: 951-827-5414
Fax: 951-827-3087
hongdian.yang@ucr.edu
We employ multi-disciplinary approaches, including state-of-the-art in vivo electrophysiology and calcium imaging, optogenetics, mouse behavior, computational modeling and theory, to link cellular-level physiology to circuit dynamics and network analysis in behaving animals, with the ultimate goal to understand the organizational principles of neuronal ensembles and the basis of information processing by single neurons and neural circuits in health and disease.
Zidovetzki, Raphael Ph.D. Professor phone: 951-827-5628
Fax: 951-827-2966
raphael.zidovetzki@ucr.edu
Transmembrane signal transduction; interaction of second messengers with lipid membranes; dynamics of cell surface receptors.
zur Nieden, Nicole Ph.D. Associate Professor phone: 951-827-3818
Fax: 951-827-3087
nicole.zurnieden@ucr.edu
Embryonic stem cell specification into osteogenic lineages to understand molecular regulators of normal bone development to deduce novel therapeutic targets.

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Career OpportunitiesUCR Libraries
Campus StatusDirections to UCR

Department Information

Molecular, Cell and Systems Biology
2111 Biological Sciences Bldg.

Manuela Martins-Green: Chair of Molecular, Cell and Systems Biology
Tel: (951) 827-2831
Fax: (951) 827-3087
E-mail: manuela.martins@ucr.edu

Footer